School Closure and Continued Support

20 March 2020

Dear Parent/Carer

Continued Support

Since the outbreak of Covid-19 academy staff have been working tirelessly to ensure that we can continue to provide an education to our pupils. I am immensely proud of the way staff and the local community have pulled together during these difficult times. Please complete the form on the earlier message if you are a key worker trying to secure a school place for your child.

As we enter a period of school closure, I wanted to inform all parents about how we intend to continue to help your child to learn. Teaching staff have been asked to set work via Show My Homework and all students have been reminded of their passwords this week. Students who don’t have access to online resources are being provided with work packs this week and for those students who are absent from the academy, these will be posted home.

Staff will be monitoring the completion of work as per the normal timetable routine and they have been asked to provide detailed feedback where feasible. I would welcome your support in ensuring your child works conscientiously at home. We want them to continue to make the most of their potential. Where staff are well they will set work for the foreseeable future. Please note we will not set work over the Easter Holidays. I hope that your family remain safe during this time and should you have any further questions please don’t hesitate to contact me or any of the staff listed below. Please be aware that staff will only check emails during the academy day (9am until 3pm) and I ask that you be patient if you do not have a response immediately.

 

Key Subject Contacts
Head of English Department: Linda.Horne@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of Maths Department: Anisha.Savani@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of Science Department: Emma.Dunkley@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of Technology Department: Phillip.Hopkins@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of Business/ICT Department: Kate.Costa@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of Geography Department: Sandra.Kelly@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of History Department: Jenny.Morris@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of PE Department: Karl.Pearce@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of Music and Drama Department: Sarah.Terry@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of Art: Emma.Dickens@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of Psychology: Jenna.Waugh@E-ACT.org.uk

For French Subject queries: Annette.Soden@E-ACT.org.uk

Key Pastoral Contacts
Head of Year 7: Beatrix.Dooey@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of Year 8: Elysha.Amed@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of Year 9: Emma.Wright@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of Year 10: Rachel.Bryan@E-ACT.org.uk

Head of Year 11: Jon.Evans@E-ACT.org.uk

Joint Head of Sixth Form: Jenna.Waugh@E-ACT.org.uk

You will also be able to contact teaching staff via Show My Homework for any subject specific support.

In addition to the work set by class teachers, we have placed numerous links to various websites which can be found on our Twitter account @DSLVnews and we will also continue to share any activities that would support your child working at home.

This is as much as we know right now and we appreciate your continued patience with us as we deal with this ever-changing situation. We understand that this latest news will have an impact on you and your family and it’s far from ideal, but we’ll continue to keep in touch with any updates as the situation develops. Please keep in touch with us and let us know if we can support you in anyway.

As more information becomes available I will ensure you are kept updated. Please regularly check social media, your phone and email accounts for updates. Please remember that if you or your child feels ill and you want to know what to do next, please use NHS 111 online. If you have any genera; questions or concerns, please email DSLVEnquiries@E-Act.org.uk

Thank you again for your continued support, and we wish you a safe passage through these troubled waters.

Yours sincerely

Roger Eadon

Headteacher

Join us for one of our open mornings Book now
We recommend
About
Useful Information
Contact